Damian Lazarus
Damian Lazarus

Damian Lazarus Crosstown Rebels 20th anniversary Album

Damian Lazarus celebrates 20 Years of his world-renowned Crosstown Rebels imprint with a special album project of unreleased cuts and fresh remixes, featuring material from Black Coffee, Maceo Plex, Art Department, Dennis Cruz and many more

To celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the label, Crosstown Rebels and Damian Lazarus have presented CR20 The Album.

Since its founding in 2003, Crosstown Rebels has released music by artists ranging from Seth Troxler and Mathew Jonson to Laurent Garnier, Rósn Murphy, and Jennifer Cardini. Today, the label serves as a hub and platform for thriving projects across the electronic spectrum, including through its sub-label Rebellion and a long list of showcases around the world.e. The Crosstown Rebels legacy has expanded alongside its founder in equal measure. Head honcho Damian Lazarus continuously promotes and spotlights musicians from around the world that share his brilliant, avant-garde vision for house music and beyond.

Damian Lazarus’s Crosstown Rebels celebrates the 20th anniversary

2023 will be the largest year yet as Lazarus and Crosstown celebrate the label’s 20th anniversary with a number of projects that will be revealed in the months leading up to the summer, with the release of “CR20 The Album” scheduled for May 12, 2023.

20 years ago, I dreamed a dream of creating a family of like-minded, crazy individuals from all corners of the planet – releasing music to the world and making people dance. That dream was Crosstown Rebels, and this year we are 20. Over these years, I have forged beautiful friendships, discovered very talented artists and tried my best to help, advise and support some of the most colourful characters in dance music. Crosstown Rebels is more than a record label, it is family. – Damian Lazarus

The eight-track package, which consists of six outstanding, well-known remixes of releases from the label’s back catalog and two previously unreleased original gems, is a rich and outstanding display of the diverse facets of the Crosstown Rebels sound as well as its internationally connected family of artists and close friends.

So 2023 will mark the label’s 20th Anniversary. This is an opportunity for the Crosstown Rebels family, a global community of artists, DJs and creatives, and the label’s myriad of followers to celebrate this momentous milestone. There will be parties and events around the world. A killer compilation of exclusives and special remixes, a beautiful coffee table book, a short film, and a special launch event are planned to bring together the sights and sounds of the label’s unique and influential history. There’s lots to share, announce and reminisce. 20 years young. – Damian Lazarus

CR20 The Album includes music from Black Coffee, Maceo Plex, Art Department, Dennis Cruz and many more

Major League DJz from Johannesburg gives Lazarus’ own 2020 collaboration with regular Crosstown vocalist Jem Cooke, “Into The Sun,” a cosmic makeover as the package’s opening track. Meanwhile, Jamie Jones‘ slick “Paradise 2011” is stripped down and given a fresh start by the hypnotic and heady sounds of Art Department. Dennis Cruz kicks off the B-Side with Chilean producer and musician Pier Bucci‘s “Hay Consuelo,” before Audiojack and Cooke‘s “Feel Good,” another standout collaboration, is taken into synth-led territory as Michael Mayer reaches for an ever-evolving bed of alluring tones.

The second half of the project features more superbly remixed music, both new and old. GRAMMY-winning DJ/producer Black Coffee turns his hand to the label’s first release of 2023, the moving “Horizon Red” by Made By Pete and Zoe Kypri, revealing reworked melodies and sparkling keys as he delivers an interpretation of a track that has been a mainstay in his sets. The project then introduces the playful yet wonky and off-kilter “The K Dance” by Adam Ten & Yamagucci, which emerges as a production ideal for those late night hours and early afters. Ellum boss Maceo Plex then adds another lost production to the mix with his “Together (2011 Mix),” which is a driving and zipping ride through sugary synths and soaring leads. In order to wrap things up in style, Tibi Dabo focuses on Guti & Dubshape’s captivating track, “Every Cow Has A Bird,” and delivers a snappy minimal-led excursion through lush pads and crisp percussion.

A 192-page hardcover book titled “20 Years Of Magic, Madness, and Music” and a feature-length documentary made by famous filmmaker David Terranova will also be released as part of the 20th anniversary celebrations alongside the record.

In addition to the legendary Music Week marathon Get Lost Miami and the magical cultural experience of Day Zero Tulum, Crosstown has earned a reputation for producing some of the best parties in the world. The Get Lost tour, which started in Miami and will stop in Bali, Tokyo, Ibiza, Dubai, Istanbul, Rome, Paris, London, Berlin, and other cities, as well as a special to-be-announced London showcase, will be part of the label’s 20-year celebration.

Tracklist CR20 The Album

  • A1 Damian Lazarus x Jem Cooke – Into The Sun (Major League DJz Remix)
  • A2 Jamie Jones – Paradise 2011 (Art Department Remix)
  • B1 Pier Bucci – Hey Consuelo (Dennis Cruz Remix)
  • B2 Audiojack x Jem Cooke – Feels Good (Michael Mayer Remix)
  • C1 Made By Pete x Zoe Kypri – Horizon Red (Black Coffee Remix)
  • C2 Adam Ten & Yamagucci – The K Dance
  • D1 Maceo Plex – Together (2011 Mix)
  • D2 Guti & Dubshape – Every Cow Has A Bird (Tibi Dabo Remix)